Past principals

Late Ashok Badardinni

1981 - 1982

The first principal of Abhinaya Taranga was an NSD alumnus. An actor and director, Ashok Badardinni directed over 200 plays, the most famous play being Hamlet with Srinivas Prabhu in the lead. He acted in innumerable plays, Serials and Films. He was associated with SJM school of Drama from its inception. He is the recipient of many awards including the Karnataka Nataka Academy award. He has directed many plays for Taranga and Chithra.

Venkatsubbiah H.V.

1982 - 1983

Fondly known as Subbanna in the theatre circle, HVV is a renowned light designer and director in Kannada theatre. He brought various plays of Sriranga to the stage and edited a collection of his works – Sriranga Sampada. He established Rangamanch to document the production details of various plays in Kannada. He is the recipient of the Karnataka State Academy award and Rajyotsava award. A beloved principal of Abhinaya Taranga.

Prof B. Chandrashekhar

1983 - 2001

Late Prof B Chandrashekhar is a distinguished name in the Kannada theatre. An active member of the BLT, BC was also a HOD of the Department of Performing Arts at Bangalore University. His discipline and punctuality earned him the title of ‘Shisthina Sipahi’. He directed many plays , most notable being Tughlaq starring C.R Simha. Our beloved Professor never missed a single day of office for the 17 years he was the principal of this school. Devoted to school till his dying day, the discipline and sincerity of Prof B.C will inspire us for years to come.

Somashekar Rao H.G.

2001 - 2003

HGS is a famous actor in Kannada television and Films. He has authored around 25 books including books like Somannana Stockninda and Innobarannu ariyuva bage. He has received the Karnataka state award for the Best Supporting Actor. He has served in the capacity of both the principal and the chairman of Abhinaya Taranga. He has been a constant source of support for this institute.